Call for submissions for 2024 ORSIS awards

Submissions deadline:  30/3/2024

Life Achievement Award

This prize is designed to recognize ORSIS members who have made significant and continuous contributions to the field of Operations Research over many years. The contributions should have implications for Operations Research in Israel, as expressed through research activities and relevant applications, advancing the profession within the scientific community, establishing the next generation of students and serving the OR community through ORSIS and increasing public awareness.

Past Award Recipients:

ORSIS Award on the name of Uriel (Uri) Rothblum

The ORSIS Award in the name of Uriel (Uri) Rothblum was established by his family in 2013 for Excellent Work in Operations Research.

Uri was one of the outstanding scholars in Operations Research in Israel beginning in the early eighties until his untimely death in March 26, 2012. Uri contributed to many areas of Operations Research ranging from dynamic programming through game theory and matching problems to algebra and combinatorial optimization. He published about 150 articles in international journals, as well as two books. Uri was a member of many journal editorial boards and in particular was the editor-in-chief of the leading journal: Mathematics of Operations Research. Uri was the president of ORSIS from 2006 to 2008 and contributed greatly both to the OR society and to the field, ensuring continuation for the next generation. He was a professor at the Faculty of Industrial Engineering and Management at the Technion for three decades and served as its dean. He also served for several years as the Technion’s Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs.

As a continuation of his contribution to the field of Operations Research and in order to perpetuate the name of Uriel Rothblum, his family established this fund to encourage excellence in Operations Research.

Past Award Recipients:

(joint with Onno Boxma and Michel Mandjes)

The Abraham Mehrez Prize

The Abraham Mehrez Prize for Excellent Work of a Graduate Student in Operations Research.

Past Award Recipients

2023 - Loay Mualem, "Using Partial Monotonicity in Submodular Maximization", Authors: Loay Mualem and Moran Feldman

2022 Gal Neria, " The Dynamic Pickup and Allocation with Fairness Problem", Authors: Gal Neria and Michal Tzur 

2021 Tzvi Alon, Nir Halman, Automatic generation of FPTASes for stochastic monotone dynamic programs made easier

2020 – Antonio Castellanos, Galit B. Yom-Tov, Yair Goldberg, Silent Abandonment in Contact Centers: Estimating Customer Patience from Uncertain Data

2019 – Ohad Eisenhandler, Michal Tzur, “The Humanitarian Pickup and Distribution Problem”

2018 – Nitzan Carmeli, Galit B. Yom-Tov, Onno J. Boxma, “State-Dependent Estimation of Delay Distributions In Fork-Join Networks”

2017 – Binyamin Oz, “Strategic behavior in queues”, (The thesis was carried out under the supervision of Prof. Moshe Haviv)

2016 – Ran I. Snitkovsky, Refael Hassin, “Strategic Sensing in Cognitive Radio Networks”

2015 – Liron Ravner, “Equilibrium Arrival Times to a Queue with Order Penalties“.

2014 – Nir Perel, (under the supervision of Prof. Uri Yechiali), “The Israeli Queue, And Polling Systems With Preparation Times”.

2013 – Ricky Roet-Green, Refael Hassin, “Equilibrium In A Two Dimensional Queueing Game: When Inspecting The Queue Is Costly”.

2012 – Assaf Avrahami, Yale T. Herer, Retsef Levi, “The Value of Information in a Retailer-Based Distribution Network”.

2011 – Lyubov Romanchuk , Raymond Hemmecke, Shmuel Onn, (under the supervision of Dr. Guy Even and Prof. Shmuel Onn), “N-fold Integer Programming in Cubic Time“.

2010 – Dan Yamin, (under the supervision of Prof. Arie Gavious), “Self Interest vs. Group Interest in Influenza Virus Vaccination Policy”.

2010 – Alexander Zadorojniy, (under the supervision of Dr. Guy Even and Prof. Adam Shwartz), “A Strongly Polynomial Algorithm for Controlled Queues”.

2009 – Shimrit Maman, (under the supervision of Prof. Avishaishai Mandelbaum and Dr. Sergey Zeltin), “Uncertainty in the Demand for Service:The Case of Call Centers and Emergency Departments”.

2009 – Michal Moatti, (under the supervision of Prof. Prof. Israel David), “A Stylistic New Model for the Problem of Organ Allocation on the Waiting List”.

2008 – Yael Berstein, (under the supervision of Shmuel Onn), “Nonlinear bipartite matching“.

2008 – Yoni Nazarathy, (under the supervision of Prof. Gideon Weiss), “The Asymptotic Variance Rate of the Output Process of Finite Capacity Birth-Death Queues”.

Past Awards

 Oded Levin Prize

The purpose of the prize is to perpetuate the memory of Dr. Oded Levin, who was an active member of the Society, by encouraging scientific work in the field of Operations Research. Dr. Oded Levin fell in the defense of Israel on June 1969, while on active duty in the Golan Heights.

This fund was closed in February 2003.

Past Award Recipients:

Go to top

Yossef Levi Prize

The purpose of the prize is to perpetuate the memory of Dr. Joseph Levy, who was a lecturer in Operations Research in the Department of Business Administration of the Hebrew University of Jerusalem. A founding member of ORSIS and active in its first Council, Dr. Levy fell in the defense of Israel during the Six Day war during the battle for the liberation of Jerusalem on June 6, 1967. The Joseph Levy prize promotes scientific work in the fields of Operations Research and Managerial Economics.

This fund was closed in February 2003.

Past Award Recipients :

Go to top

ORSIS Prize for Encouraging Excellence in Operations Research

This purpose of this prize is to advance the field of Operations Research in Israel, to encourage researchers, particularly young researchers, and to continue to perpetuate the memory of Dr. Oded Levin and Dr. Joseph Levy, members of the Operations Research Society of Israel, who fell in the defense of Israel.

This fund was closed at the beginning of 2013.

Past Award Recipients :